Wrap Up – October 2016

I’m really starting to get the ball rolling with reading again, especially as I’m reading books that have been on my TBR for a long time. This year I’ve definitely noticed that I’m reading longer books on average, and even tackling a couple of the more intimidating ones. Now that there’s only 2 months left of 2016, I’m really starting to think about what my last reads are going to be….


{Books Read in October}


I completed a total of 4 books this month:

  • This Shattered World (Starbound #2) – Amy Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
    Comments: The links to the first book were well executed; I like how there was an overlap between the characters’ lives. The book seemed to start out a bit like a typical romance novel might, but I did really appreciate that the main characters were driven by their own morals and values, rather than hormones.
    ★★★✩✩
  • The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul – Douglas Adams
    Comments: I wish Douglas Adams had written more books in the vein of the Dirk Gently series, because his writing and sense of humour just shine through. It was witty and clever, and very very enjoyable.
    ★★★★✩
  • Akarnae – Lynette Noni
    Comments: I had quite a few issues with this book, sadly. A friend of mine really loves the series, so it was quite over hyped for me. Right from page one, I felt that the writing wasn’t really up to par with the kind of quality I prefer, and according to the protagonist, every male character had to be impossibly handsome and a total heartthrob. The plot of the story really seemed to progress oddly, coming to a climax that I wasn’t too interested in.
    ★✩✩✩✩
  • Talon – Julie Kagawa
    Comments: To be honest I definitely skimmed this book a little more than I should have, but I really liked the unique concept of undercover dragons in this little world. I wasn’t the biggest fan of the writing, and the side characters were real throw-aways, but the world building that was happening was great. 
    ★★★✩✩

{Ongoing}

  • A Game of Thrones (Song of Ice and Fire #1) – George R.R. Martin [50%]
    I really like the writing in this so far, but it feels like things are only just about to get rolling. It’s to be expected though, considering how many characters POV’s we’re dealing with here.
  • Harry Potter e La Pietra Filosofale – J.K. Rowling [15%]
    Enjoying this much the same as the English version. Unlike the original however, it takes much more concentration and longer for me to read, because my Italian skills aren’t the best.

Total books read in 2016: 61
Goodreads Challenge Progress : 61 out of 50 books pledged.


avatar

Bookstagram: https://www.instagram.com/datsureads/
Tumblr: https://www.tumblr.com/blog/datsudream
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/ThatsDatsu

Leave a Reply

