Wrap Up – September 2016

September has been simply amazing, and hectic, and crazy…and I’m sick and/or dying again? Everything evens though, I’m pretty sure, because I have so many memories from the great adventures last month, and I’m about to go on my last placement before graduating. YES GRADUATING. A lot of big changes, very, very soon.

ON TO BOOKS!

{Books Read in September}


I completed a total of 4 books in September….

  • Silver Linings Playbook – Matthew Quick
    Comments: This was a light, quick read for me. It was interesting being in the head of someone with the particular mental state of the protagonist in this novel, but I did struggle with his personality a fair bit, and never really grasped why his ‘slip’ happened they way it did. An interesting read, but I didn’t feel very attached to the characters.
    ★★★✩✩
  • Desolation (Demon Road #2) – Derek Landy
    Comments: Definitely not what I was expecting from the sequel to Demon Road, and definitely not what I expected from Derek Landy. I don’t think I’ve ever rated one of his books lower than 5 stars. The humour in this novel is tell-tale Landy; blunt, funny, and makes great use of the characters. However, around the middle everything fell a bit…flat, the love interest felt forced and tokenistic (to me), and the author seems to really have abused his system of injuring the protagonist in new and painful ways. Despite this, even the side characters were interesting, and I’m still quite intrigued about how Milo’s story will develop.
    ★★★✩✩
  • Sex Criminals (Volume #1) – Matt Fraction & Chip Zdarsky
    Comments: I was surprised by the humour in this graphic novel. There’s a great deal of witty commentary that pokes fun at society and ‘normality’ in general, and the comments section at the end of each single issue is always something to look forward to. The art is really vibrant and evokes an almost dream-like atmosphere at times.
    ★★★★✩

And I finally finished…..!

  • Necronomicon: The Best Weird Tales – H.P. Lovecraft
    Comments: Rather proud that I managed to finish this huge volume, especially as the writing style at times (while quite beautiful and often poetic), means that a lot of the ‘short’ stories are a slow, winding build. This was a great collected edition however, because the majority of the stories linked together in at least some small way. My recommended reads if you’re looking to try out some Lovecraft include The Cats of Ulthar, The Outsider, The Hound, The Silver Key, Through the Gates of the Silver Key, and The Shadow Out of Time.
    ★★★★✩

Total books read in 2016: 56
Goodreads Challenge Progress : 56 out of 50 books pledged.


avatar

Bookstagram: https://www.instagram.com/datsureads/
Tumblr: https://www.tumblr.com/blog/datsudream
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/ThatsDatsu

Leave a Reply

