Wrap Up – August 2016

What could be better for escaping that which causes you stress, than reading? Wow August went by fast. I’m on placement for my course again this month, and will pretty much will be until November. I’m really, really looking forward to some bright shiny new book releases in between now and then though.


{Books Read in August}


I completed a total of 3 books in August….

  • This Savage Song – V.E. Schwab
    Comments: I was really impressed by the world building and lore in this novel, but the characters even moreso. I was afraid it was going to turn into a ‘starcrossed lovers’ type of schtick, I really was, but I really need to learn to trust Victoria Schwab better! The characters were interesting on their own, and most importantly, independently functional. I loved the side characters (particularly the Sunai, I just loved them). I can pick at the tropes (loner girl, nice guy who is lonely etc etc) but overall the book was really enjoyable and I liked the writing style.  As the author herself describes it, “Sin City PLUS Romeo and Juliet MINUS romance PLUS monsters.”
    ★★★★✩
  • Golden Son (Red Rising #2) – Pierce Brown
    Comments: I had so many mixed emotions about this book (some of which you can read about here), but overall I thought it was a highly functional sequel that contributed a lot to the direction of this series. I was taken aback at first by the way this book connects to the previous novel, but there was a real consistency about Darrow and this universe that I didn’t mind. I did struggle a lot at first with all the character names, but after a while this didn’t really matter so much anymore (I’m not saying everyone’s dead, just that most of the dialogues happen between small groups of characters). My only negative is that I find the big battle/warfare type sequences in these novels to be quite drawn out, and I tend to skim these a little, but that’s probably a taste thing.
    ★★★★✩
  • The Copper Gauntlet (The Magisterium #2) – Holly Black & Cassandra Clare
    Comments: Suprisingly, I enjoyed this more than the first book. I think it helped that I knew what to expect this time around, and was prepared for the story to be more middle-grade. I enjoyed this as a light read, but struggle with the narrow scope of the story. Compared with similar series I felt that The Magisterium lacks a sense of…world? I feel that the books are very focused on a specific setting and characters, making the outside world seem, well, empty. 
    ★★★✩✩

And I’m still reading…

  • Necronomicon: The Best Weird Tales – H.P. Lovecraft
    [Ongoing]

Total books read in 2016: 53
Goodreads Challenge Progress : 53 out of 50 books pledged.


avatar

Bookstagram: https://www.instagram.com/datsureads/
Tumblr: https://www.tumblr.com/blog/datsudream
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/ThatsDatsu

Leave a Reply

