Wrap Up – July 2016

So hey all *wave*. I’m back at uni for my last semester, and I’m not exaggerating when I say it’s hit me like a tonne of bricks. Not joking. Wish I were. Oh my goodness.

But anyway, things are under control (ish) and I’m getting back into the swing of things. I read about as much as I thought I would in July (not as much as I’d have liked, but still decent!), but am feeling positive about August.


{Books Read in July}


I completed a total of 3 books in June….

  • Firefight (Reckoners #2) – Brandon Sanderson
    Comments: I realised quite a few important things continuing with this series, not least of which is that I can’t find a single character that I actually like. I found that more and more I was reading this book for the world building and general plot, rather than being invested at all in the outcomes. I’ve heard so many people rave about this author, so maybe I need to pick up one of his high fantasy series instead.
    ★★★✩✩
  • Saga (Volume #6) – Brian K. Vaughan
    Comments: Not as enjoyable as previous issues, it was more of a coming-together of threads. However, the art was GORGEOUS as usual, and there were some definite laugh out loud moments that were perfection.
    ★★★★✩
  • The Last Star (5th Wave #3) – Rick Yancey
    Comments: Oh boy where do I start? I feel like I’m being overly harsh this month or something, but I’m normally a pretty easy reader to please. It was sort of painful to watch the main “heroine” run around uselessly, going all ‘teenage girl’ on everybody, whilst the side characters were really the people driving the plot in this instalment. I’m unsure if this was an intentional shift by the author, but it was pretty annoying to read, guys. The writing in general swayed from insightful to overplayed and I think this is where the book really lost me.Little bit of a disappointing end to the trilogy.
    ★★✩✩✩

And I’m still reading…

  • Necronomicon: The Best Weird Tales – H.P. Lovecraft
    [Ongoing]

Total books read in 2016: 50
Goodreads Challenge Progress : 50 out of 50 books pledged.

Was I a bit harsh this month? If anyone else has read these books, let me know! I’m always kind of curious when my opinion goes against the majority.

My general reviews for the books I read in July can be found on my Goodreads here.


avatar

Bookstagram: https://www.instagram.com/datsureads/
Tumblr: https://www.tumblr.com/blog/datsudream
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/ThatsDatsu

Leave a Reply

