TBR – July 2016

The next couple months are going to focus more on knocking down my TBR pile, as I feel like it’s at that point where it’s starting to get a little out of control. As I mentioned previously, this is the most recent photo of my physical TBR pile…
tbr pile

…that’s 22 books all up, (excluding An Ember in the Ashes and Firefight, which I just read in June). Some of these books have been here for  over a year, but I’m proud to say that the majority are more recent acquisitons :)

So excited this month to get back into reading and books, you’ll see this in my optimistic TBR :)


{July TBR}


July TBR

  • Necronomicon: The Best Weird Tales – H.P. Lovecraft
  • Silver Linings Playbook – Matthew Quick
  • The Copper Gauntlet (Magisterium #2) – Holly Black and Cassandra Clare
  • This Shattered World (Starbound #2) – Amie Kaufman
  • Golden Son (Red Rising #2) – Pierce Brown
  • The Last Star (The 5th Wave #3) – Rick Yancey

Honestly, my priority this month will probably be Necronomicon and The Last Star, as the former was loaned to me (and is huge), and the latter I really need to just read already. I doubt I can finish such a large book in a month, so if I’m struggling, I’ll read some of these other books as well :)


{MMD 2016 Reading Challenge}


In 2016 I’m taking part in the Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge to complement my regular reading challenge. There are 12 distinct challenges, one for each month, which are intended to help structure your reading list across the year.

reading challenge

And for July I have chosen……

A book chosen for you by your spouse, partner, sibling etc

For this one I’m thinking I’m going to attempt Necronomicon: The Best Weird Tales by H.P. Lovecraft. I started listening to it as an audio book because I was quite intimidated, and at first made some great progress. Lately however, I haven’t had many opportunities to just sit with my headphones in, and actually want to give the book a go.

Previous challenges:
January: A book published before you were born – Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
February: A book you can finish in a day – Finders Keepers by Emily Rodda
March: A book published this year – A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab
April: A book you’ve been meaning to read – Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness
May: A book you’ve read at least once – Vicious by V.E. Schwab
June: A book you own but have never read – Demon Road by Derek Landy


avatarGoing to be an interesting month, as I may read a lot, but only finish a book or two….or I might not finish anything at all? Guess we’re going to find out.
-Datsu xox



Bookstagram: https://www.instagram.com/datsureads/
Tumblr: https://www.tumblr.com/blog/datsudream
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/ThatsDatsu

3 thoughts on “TBR – July 2016

Leave a Reply

