Wrap Up – May 2016

This month has been absolutely crazy– I’ve been on my work placement for my university course, which means working full time whilst also completing assignments and paperwork. Amongst all this stress, it’s been so unbelievably nice to be able to sit down and read a book whenever there’s a small free moment (mostly on my lunch breaks or right before bed as a wind-down).

As such, I only made it through a few books this month, but I had such an enjoyable experience with them (it helped that some of my favourite authors were in this month’s selection).


{Books Read in May}


I completed 4 books in May…..

  • Vicious – V. E. Schwab
    My first re-read in a long time, and such a perfect choice. The world of Vicious was familair and welcoming, and just as intriguing as the first time I read it. ★★★★★
  • These Broken Stars (Starbound #1) – Amie Kaufman
    Been meaning to start this series since I read Illuminae in January, and I was really pleasantly surprised. ★★★★★
  • The Raven King (Raven Cycle #4) – Maggie Stiefvater
    Everything I wanted from the last book in The Raven Cycle. The characters and writing were so witty, so perfect, so satisfying. I read this in about two days.★★★★★
  • Rebel of the Sands – Alwyn Hamilton
    Not gonna lie, picked this one up because the cover is gorgeous. And shiny. The story is completely original and unique, and the world of Rebel Sands has some really interesting lore and world building happening. I sort of lost interest in the second half though. ★★★✩✩ (3.5-4 stars?)
  • The Restaurant at the End of the Universe (Hitchhikers #2) – Douglas Adams
    Douglas Adams is true to form in this sequel to The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Universe. Every page is unexpected and witty, so much so that you really have to be paying attention, or you’ll miss some of the jokes. The characters in this series don’t really seem to exist in order to develop, but rather as constants in a world of wacky events that are throwing us for a loop every few pages. ★★★★✩

Books read this month: 5
Total books read in 2016: 38
Goodreads Challenge Progress : 38 out of 50 books pledged!!

My general reviews for the books I read in May can be found on my Goodreads here.


 

avatar

Bookstagram: https://www.instagram.com/datsureads/
Tumblr: https://www.tumblr.com/blog/datsudream
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/ThatsDatsu

One thought on “Wrap Up – May 2016

Leave a Reply

