TBR – January 2016

Hey WordPress, Happy New Year! It’s finally here!

Here we go, it’s Reading Challenge time. Yes, it’s all definitely happening this year. I may have downgraded my goals a bit this time around, but I’m also trying to diversify my reading a bit more too… baby steps! 2015 was my first time doing the Goodreads Reading Challenge, which was a huge success! Taking part in a community based reading program gave me the drive I needed to learn how to incorporate reading back into my life again, and now that it’s here I never want it to leave. I loved it. So of course, I’m doing it again :) If you’re unfamiliar with Goodreads, or the challenge itself, mosey on over here.


{Challenge #1: 2016 Goodreads Challenge}


This year I’m hoping to return to full time study (really hoping I get into my first choice), so despite reading over 100 books last year, I think I’d be happy with even half that amount this time.

Goal: I want to read 50 books in 2016

2016-01-05 19_34_29-Photos
Yup, straight from Goodreads, that one. Spoiler, I’ve just read Illuminae.

The best part about tracking your challenge with a website such as Goodreads is that at the end of the year you can view all these amazing statistics such as the number of books, pages and words you’ve read, amongst other things. I find that having your achievements all laid out like that is super satisfying.


{Challenge #2: MMD 2016 Reading Challenge}


Last year I saw so many interesting book challenges that I would have loved to take part in. Since I was still getting back into the routine of reading I was quite intimidated and didn’t want to pressure myself too much, but this year I’m completely ready. In 2016 I’m going to try and supplement my regular reading challenge with an extra web challenge, one that was referred to me over on Facebook–the Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge.

There are 12 distinct challenges, one for each month, which are intended to help structure your reading list across the year (and therefore works well with my Goodreads Challenge also).

reading challenge

And for this month I have chosen……

A book published before you were born

I went waaaaay back with this one and picked Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë. I tried reading this when my father first bought it for me around the age of ten, but the language was probably a bit too complex at the time. Since then, I never really found the opportunity to pick up the book and just read  it, but I think 2016 is the year I finally tackle this classic! I’ve always heard really good things about the characters in this book, so I do still have high expectations.


And lastly…
{January TBR}


January

TA DAAA! It feels good to finally be in 2016, and even more so to start reading new series and new books which I’ve bought recently.

Illuminae (Illuminae Files #1 – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
Wuthering Heights – Emily Brontë
The Princess Bride – William Goldman
Carry On – Rainbow Rowell
Rebel Belle (Rebel Belle #1) – Rachel Hawkins
The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1) – Patrick Ness

You might have noticed that I’ve read Illuminae already, because this is going up a bit late, but I do have some good things to say about it at the end of the month :)


It looks like a pretty positive start to the new year, got some serious book goals happening and everything. Also planning to revamp the site graphics (it being a brand new year and all), starting with some of the banners. Let me know what you think!

avatar -Datsu xox



Bookstagram: https://www.instagram.com/datsureads/
Tumblr: https://www.tumblr.com/blog/datsudream
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/ThatsDatsu

5 thoughts on “TBR – January 2016

Leave a Reply

