Festive Season Book Tag

Last book tag for the year, woo! In honor of the holidays, I’m doing the Christmas Cracker Book Tag, which was created by Lucy over at Queen of Contemporary, but I discovered over on The Pretty Books . I’m just finishing my Christmas shopping, and I’m planning to bake some cookies and things to take over to my friends’ houses when we have our holiday get togethers :). In terms of reading however, I’m trying to keep things festive too! I read My True Love Gave to Me right at the start of the month, and have a few other holiday-esque titles lined up!


{Pick a book with a wintry cover}

Wintersmith (Discworld) – Terry Pratchett

Haven’t actually read this one yet, but I got it at a bargain price (in hardcover!) a couple months ago. It’s another Discworld novel, but in a story arc I haven’t touched on yet. The time will come, though.


{Pick a book youโ€™re likely buy as a present}

Magonia – Maria Dahvana Headley

In fact, I’ve bought this book as a Christmas present for a friend of mine. I just found the writing style so beautiful, and the story was unique and compelling enough that any reader would enjoy it. On top of that, Neil Gaiman reviewed it and I know my friend enjoys his work. (Also, the cover art is beautiful).




=
=


{Pick a festive themed book}

My True Love Gave To Me – Holly Black, Ally Carter, Matt de la Pena, Gayle Forman, Jenny Han, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Myra McEntire, Stephanie Perkins, Rainbow Rowell, Laini Taylor & Kiersten White

Duh. I waited all year just to read this book during the festive season! (Despite the fact that it is actually Summer here in the Southern Hemisphere, but whatever). I’m glad I waited to read it though, because even though the stories are all super diverse, they have this great warmth and festive spirit to them that really got me into the holiday mood.






{Pick a book you can curl up with by the fireplace}

Blue Lily, Lily Blue (Raven Cycle #3) – Maggie Stiefvater

From memory I feel like this book is one where there are enough of those perfect, warm, intrigueing moments that I could just curl up someplace warm and enjoy reading it again and again. Already planning a re-read for next year. I just want to spend more time with the beautiful characters, and to enjoy the writing style again.



{Pick a book you want to read over the festive period}

Winter (Luna Chronicles #4) – Marissa Meyer

Reading this right now! Winter was just released at the end of November, and I’m so very ready to wrap up the Lunar Chronicles series. It’s going to be bittersweet, but I just have to know how it all ends. I’ve loved all the characters –I love Princess Winter already–and get such a kick out of all the cleverly woven in fairytale references.




{Pick a book thatโ€™s so good it gives you chills}

Vicious – V.E. Schwab

I think I actually did get chills reading this book the first time. It had been talked up for me, yet even with all the hype I was still really pulled in when I read the book. It was so different to anything I had read before, and the main characters had me both amazed and terrified. I was still guessing- who was the good guy? what’s going to happen? will anyone survive this? until the very, very end.



{Pick a book going on your Christmas wishlist}

Harry Potter & the Philosopher’s Stone (Illustrated Ed.) – J.K. Rowling
—-
I mean, have you seen this thing?? It. Looks. Gorgeous. Wow, I want that book. It feels like such a perfect new form for the Harry Potter books to take, one for a whole new generation of readers to enjoy and fall in love with.


Yay for the festive season! We don’t really have any big holidays here in Australia, so I basically throw everything I can into Christmas. (I mean we have Easter, but chocolate only gets you so far…). I hope you’ve enjoyed this tag, and I’ve tried to mix things up a little bit, as usually the same books come up as my answers each and every time (something to work on in the New Year).ย  For those of you still doing your reading challenges, there’s just two weeks left! I believe in you! Keep on slugging through!
avatar

-Datsu xox

 

One thought on “Festive Season Book Tag

Leave a Reply

