Biggest (book) Surprises 2015

….Yep! That’s the Good and the Bad folks. All my own opinion of course, because I believe that whether you enjoy a book or not all depends on personal taste, exposure to hype, when and where you actually read it. I’ll try to explain my reasoning as I go.
Each of the books on this list are ones that I read during the course of 2015, and for some reason or another, were completely different to my expectations. Some really were even better than I could have imagined, whilst others just fell perhaps a bit flat of what I was hoping.Enjoy!


#5- “Huh, this is a little different…”

Ehh: Aristotle & Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe – Sáenz, Benjamin Alire
[I tried hard not to overhype myself…and probably failed. I think I just heard so many wonderful things, that despite being a good book, I was a bit disappointed. I think I expect contemporaries to really wow me. 3 stars.]

Ooh: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown – Holly Black
[Definitely not what I expected, especially since it was my first Holly Black book. I should have known better, really. Could have been turned into an entire series on its own, but such a satisfying stand alone too. 5 stars.]

#4- “Oh? Well then…”

Ehh: Brightly Woven – Alexandra Bracken
[I read this not long after reading Bracken’s Darkest Minds trilogy, and thus, was really quite let down. The characters just didn’t have that depth that I’d come to expect, and I really felt that there were so many fantasy elements that could have been expanded upon to really make the story come alive. 3 stars.]

Ooh: Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn
[I’d heard things…good things…and yet I was a bit hesitant to venture out of my reading comfort zone. I couldn’t believe how much I loved this book, the characters, the details, the writing style–everything was perfectly handled, such a powerful read. 5 stars.]

#3- “Oh my…”

Ehh: Paper Towns – John Green
[As with most of John Green’s books, another victim of hype for me. I really liked the concepts and ideas that he explores, but I take issue with his characters and their actions. 3 stars.]

Ooh: The Raven Boys – Maggie Stiefvater
[It started slow, and yet by the time the story really kicks off all the main characters have been well fleshed out and seem equally as important as the protagonist. Loved all the characters, loved the plot, and loved the writing style. 5 star.]

#2- “More than I bargained for.”

Ehh: A Court of Thorns & Roses – Sarah J. Maas
[I was expecting so so much from this novel, I’ll be honest. I marathon read all of the current books in the Throne of Glass series, and then moved straight onto this one, and it was quite a shock. It felt like a completely different author wrote the book, and I just could not attach myself to any of the characters. Most of them felt really flat, and the plot progressed strangely. It’s also possible that I dislike the protagonist. 2 star.]

Ooh: I’ll Give You the Sun – Jandy Nelson
[Despite the hype, nothing could wreck this book for me. The writing style was beautiful, and the book itself is very quotable (and I do love my quotes). A contemporary that set the bar impossibly high for other contemporaries. 5 star.]

#1- “Not what I expected”

Ehh: The Rosie Project – Graeme Simsion
[I was SO disappointed that I couldn’t get into this book. It seemed well written, but the narration style really got on my nerves, and I couldn’t imagine sitting and reading this book in one go. I was battling through the prose and therefore unable to connect with either of the main characters, eventually leading me to becoming completely disinterested in the outcome of the story. 2 star]

Ooh: Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir – Jenny Lawson
[Never considered myself to be interested in reading autobiographies or memoires, but this book really flipped my perception upside-down. Lawson is really, really funny, and the events in this book were both thought provoking and absurd! Enjoyed it so much that I’m seriously making a list of other autobiographies I might read. 5 star. ]


And there you have it! Some of the surprises I encountered during my 2015 reading journey. There were of course other books that I read and found to be not quite what I expected, but I think these top ten were the biggest jaw droppers. The good and the bad balance out in the end, but it all truly is very subjective.

Did anyone else encounter something similar? Let me know below!

avatar – Datsu, xox


One thought on “Biggest (book) Surprises 2015

Leave a Reply

