Goodreads Challenge – December

The time has come! This is my final wrap up & TBR for 2015! Next time I make reading challenge goals, it will be the new year :)  At this point I have no clue what my reading habits are going to be like next year (I’m a bit excited, and a bit scared!), with full time study (I hope) and work (also hope), but I’m not even going to ponder that right now.

I went on a bit of a book buying binge this month, because there were quite a few new books I just *had* to have. I’m really sorry bank account, really.

Except I’m not.

Moving on, I only landed somewhere around 1/3 of the target word count for NaNoWriMo, but I’m not too stressed about it because I worked a lot of overtime, got my Christmas shopping done, and marathon read ALL (except for one) of Sarah J. Maas’ books in anticipation of her meet and greet.

Aforementioned meet and greet was awesome, and I now have a beautiful signed hard cover edition of Throne of Glass. The only book I missed out on was the novella, The Assassin’s Blade which I’m saving to read right before book 5 is released next year.

This month I read 11 books, bringing my total to 132


{The Books}


Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) – Sarah J. Maas
I was once again captivated from the very start and just loved the writing. All the relationship moments between characters were so well written, realistically handled, and never found myself dissatisfied. Lots of shocking reveals are always great too.
★★★★★ (4.5-4.8)

Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3) – Sarah J. Maas
Dives right into the story, and though I was a bit worried because of the new setting, I shouldn’t have been. This is probably my favourite book in the series so far, new characters are dealt with well and the switch in POVs doesn’t detract from the momentum of the story at all.
★★★★★

Half Wild (Half Bad #2) – Sally Green
Overall, I don’t feel like a lot of things were actually achieved in this book, but there was a lot of personal progression between characters. The writing style is quick to read through and I liked the narrator better in this book.
★★★★✩

Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4) – Sarah J. Maas
Wow. Now with a full cast of characters, so many events and character developments unfolded across this book. I loved the insight that different POVs provided, and feel like everyone had their time to shine. Very satisfying read, hanging on for the next book.
★★★★★

You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) – Felicia Day
Felicia is funny, geeky and adorable. I could relate to just about everything she was talking about, though she does her best to relate her experiences in everyday terms too. I just wanted to keep on reading about her childhood, and I guess I wish there were more of those quirky stories in there, as most of the book focuses on her developing and creating The Guild. A great read nonetheless and very interesting.
★★★★✩

The Hundred and One Dalmatians – Dodie Smith
I didn’t quite expect the dry sense of humour in this novel! It was endearing and very creative. I loved the perspective of the Dalmatians, this is the kind of book you can enjoy at any age.
★★★★✩

A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas
Kay so, main issues: couldn’t get attached to the main characters, they felt empty. Insta-love elements were cringe-worthy and I’m not sure if all this is because of my high expectations coming away from the Throne of Glass series or not, but it didn’t read like a book by Sarah J. Maas. Kept putting the book down. The pacing also felt very off. However, I liked the world, and the creative elements were definitely all there.
★★★✩✩

Son (The Giver #4) – Lois Lowry
Son links together the characters from each of the previous books in an interesting way. There was also a nice amount of world building, which the series probably needed. However, it didn’t really solve any of the gaping mysteries that had built up until this point, and by the end of the book I was still confused and unsatisfied. I just expected a few more answers from a book that was nearly double the size of its predecessors.
(3 stars)
★★★✩✩

Saga #1 – Brian K Vaughan & Fiona Staples
Funny, inventive, refreshing. I loved the character design and just wish more story could be fit in this first volume.
★★★★✩

The Faust Act (The Wicked + The Divine #1) – Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matt Wilson
Definitely not what I was expecting, and I struggled (a little bit) with the main character’s motivation aside from “well she’s a teenager so *shrug*” but the concept is great and I love a good cliffhanger.
★★★★✩

Five Children and It – E. Nesbit
I enjoyed the narrator’s sense of humor, which you see in a lot of older kids books, but struggled to attach myself to any of the characters. They’re simply children who just don’t absorb the ‘careful what you wish for’ moral of the story. That’s probably just because of my adult perspective, but I sort of feel my inner child agrees.
★✩✩

Welcome to Nightvale -Joseph Fink & Jeffrey Cranor
As a fan of the podcast, I was astounded at the idea of Nightvale in book format, but also couldn’t imagine what that entailed. Well, I loved it! There are many in-jokes for fans, but you’re also not really missing out if you haven’t listened to the show before. That said, maybe it’s a good idea to come prepared for Nightvale‘s wacky, dark, impossible humor.
★✩ (4.5 stars)


December TBR


November

Castle in the Air (Howl’s Moving Castle #2) – Diana Wynne Jones
House of Many Ways (Howl’s Moving Castle #3) – Diana Wynne Jones
Library of Souls (Miss Peregrines #3) – Ransom Riggs
Winter (Lunar Chronicles #4) – Marissa Meyer
The Sky is Everywhere – Jandy Nelson

and
My True Love Gave To Me – Stephanie Perkins, Holly Black, Ally Carter, Matt de la Pena,Gayle Forman, Jenny Han, David Levithan, Kelly Link , Myra McEntire,Rainbow Rowell, Laini Taylor, Kiersten White

 

Also:
Finder’s Keepers – Emily Rodda
Wuthering Heights – Emily Brontë


I really want to finish this year with as few ongoing series as possible, so I’m aiming to finish Howl’s Moving Castle, Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children as well as the Lunar Chronicles series. Trying to also get up to date with the 5th Wave series in anticipation for the last instalment next year.

Current Goodreads TBR: 356 (a decrease…look at that! Tbh my goal next year should be to get my TBR down under 300…)

avatar

-Datsu xox

Leave a Reply

