Bookish Scenarios Tag

Hey WordPress, it’s tag time again :P I recently saw this tag over on
thesassygeek , and it was created over on Youtube by Lindsay Hearts Books.


1.) You have to get rid of all your books and you can only keep one from each of these genres – contemporary, fantasy, non-fiction and one other genre of your choosing. What books do you keep?
[This is actually really, really hard for me because the thought of getting rid of books….*shudder*]
Contemporary – The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender- Leslye Walton
Fantasy – Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3) – Sarah J Maas
Non-Fiction – Let’s Pretend This Never Happened – Jenny Lawson
Horror – The Coldest Girl in Coldtown – Holly Black

2.) You’re at the bookstore and you hear a teenager telling their mom they don’t like to read, but their mom insists they pick something. You walk over and recommend a book you think is great for people who aren’t big on reading – what book is it?
Ohohoho. Do I have a book for YOU. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson is an unbelievably funny, laugh out loud autobiography. I recommend this book in particular because it was actually recommended to ME by a friend who hardly ever reads herself. THAT is how I know just about anyone could pick it up and enjoy it. It also suits a wide age group, so the mother could read it later :P.

3.) You’re not feeling yourself and need a pick me up. Which book do you read to put yourself in a great mood?
I’d go back to an old favourite, something I know will be satisfying and won’t stress me over how it ends. That’s the book equivalent of settling down with a hot tea and blanket. Familiar characters and a story I know I’ll enjoy. At this point in time, I’d most likely go back and read something by Rainbow Rowell, probably Fangirl.

4.) You go back in time for a day to your childhood years. What book would you most likely have caught yourself reading?
I have a super vivid memory of myself as a child, sitting in the backyard being absolutely glued to my copy of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. I think it really kick started my reading journey, and I still have all of my Narnia books on my shelf :).

5.) Your friend surprises you with a 4 day trip and you have 1 hour to pack. Which book do you bring to read on the way?
I bring my e-reader, because choices, man! If that’s really not an option though, I’d just bring whatever book I was currently reading because I tend to take that with me wherever I go anyway.

6.) Your house has been robbed! Don’t worry – everyone is safe, but your bookshelf has been raided. What’s the book you really hope is safe?
The Raven Boys. I worked so damn hard to get that series in hardcover! It’s so gloriously beautiful, and even lives on a separate shelf to my other books.

7.) Your friend borrows a book and returns it in awful condition. Do you a) Just pretend you haven’t noticed b) Ask them to repurchase it or c) Secretly do the same to something of theirs?
I guess of the three options I’d pick a) but I’d definitely make note of the fact that it came back in such a state. The people I loan out books to would never ever try to return it like that though, but even so, that’s a risk you take when you loan out books. In the end I actually agree with the opinion of the original tag creator, as the book was probably worth under $20, and can be re bought. Also not worth losing an entire friendship over, so it’s not really something to get worked up about. (Though I’m probably not going to go around loaning out my signed copies or anything).


So what do you think? How do your own opinions differ? Go check out Lindsay Hearts Books for the original tag video and her own answers to these prompts!

avatar-Datsu xox

 

Leave a Reply

