Favourite Quotes from 2015

Hey WordPress! Now that there are only six weeks left of the year (read: six!), I’m counting down all my favourite things from 2015 in an effort to wrap the year up neatly.
Personally, one of the things I love most about being on Goodreads is that apart from letting me track what books I’ve read/am reading/want to read, I can also collect all my favourite quotes from those books in one place! I’m a real quote collector, and when I’m in the mood to paint, music lyrics, poems and inspirational quotes are one of my main go-tos.

So what I’m saying essentially, is that I have a whole lot of quotes to pick between–it’s not easy! Without further ado….


Top 15 Quotes (From Books I Read) In 2015!


15. “The Lady or The Tiger”
“My Lady, the tiger”
-Holly Black, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown
[You sorta had to be there, but I loved the chemistry between the main characters]

14. “He was saying that the end of the world wasn’t an accident; it was a joke”
-Holly Black, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown

13. “The trouble with life was that you didn’t get a chance to practice before doing it for real”
-Terry Pratchett, Pyramids
[Pratchett wrote nothing but undeniable truths! I actually have this quote written in a couple different places, inc. social media pages]

12. “I am he that buries his friends alive and drowns them and draws them alive from the water. I came from the end of a bag, but no bag went over me”
-J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit
[Part of a larger quote, but it sums up what is so great about Tolkien’s writing in the Hobbit: it’s clever, rhythmic and whimsical]

11. “No matter how fast light travels, it finds the darkness has always got there first, and is waiting for it”
-Terry Prachett, Reaper Man

10. “He was brother to a liar and brother to an angel, son of a dream and son of a dreamer”
-Maggie Stiefvater, The Dream Thieves
[Yep, there’s a few Stiefvater quotes in this list, but I love the imagery they evoke, and how potent they were in context]

9. “If you never saw the stars, candles were enough”
-Maggie Stiefvater, The Dream Thieves

8. “I stabbed you. With a massive sword. You caught on fire.”
His lips twitched, almost imperceptibly. “Okay, so maybe our problems aren’t like other couples”
-Cassandra Clare, City of Lost Souls
[haha. hahahaa.]

7. “Good and evil are a great deal more complex than a princess and a dragon, or a wolf and a scarlet-clad little girl. And is not the dragon the hero of his own story? Is not the wolf simply acting as a wolf should act?”
-Erin Morgenstern, The Night Circus

6. “She drifted towards the bedroom, on her way to have a bath or take a nap or start a war”
-Maggie Stiefvater, Blue Lily, Lily Blue
[Badass female character is sleepy but dangerous.]

5. “Fairy tales are more than true: not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten”
-Neil Gaiman, Coraline

4. “What a treacherous thing to believe that a person is more than a person”
-John Green, Paper Towns
[Yeah, I was disappointed in the book originally (mostly because of all the hype), but I really connected with some of the themes and ideas presented by John Green. I think they’re really relevant in our society and everyday lives.]

3. “Plenty of humans were monstrous, and plenty of monsters knew how to play at being human”
-Victoria Schwab, Vicious

2. “Life’s not a paragraph, and death I think is no parenthesis”
-E.E. Cummings (featured in Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley)
[Upon finding this beauty I actually had to go research E.E. Cummings so that I could get involved with more of his beautiful poetry. It’s used perfectly in the context of Magonia]

1. “Quick, make a wish. Take a (second or third or fourth) chance. Remake the world.”
-Jandy Nelson, I’ll Give you the Sun
[I was blown away by I’ll Give You the Sun, and this quote comes from a point in the book where I could feel the author just radiating positive vibes.]


Certainly, some of the middle quotes can probably be swapped around because it’s pretty hard to make an exact, cleanly defined list especially since I’ve been attached to all of these quotes since I first read them in their respective novels, but I’m pretty definite on my top 4-5.

My favourite quotes are a mixture of the funny and philosophical. Perhaps some are only enjoyable if you’ve read the book though (i.e Coldest Girl in Coldtown).  There are still 6 weeks left, but I’ve had such an unbelievably strong, passion re-invoking year with books. To be honest, I don’t think I could narrow down this list any lower (I had actually tried for 10 at first!).

Hope you enjoyed this! Please share any favourite quotes you might have!
Next time on Favourites 2015: 10 Books That Surprised me! (The good and the bad)
avatar          -Datsu xox

 

Leave a Reply

