Reading Challenge – November

Hi all! So October was pretty amazing, but I didn’t actually get as much reading done as I thought I would. That being said, I still did get through quite a few books. AND I’ve finally finished the Daughter of Smoke & Bone series–it was so perfect and I just cried. Really. Read my first (and only) autobiography for the year (it was awesome), and started two new series (that new series feeling).
I also got my license this month! And I’m looking for a car to buy! That’s pretty huge stuff for me, as I struggled for a really long time to find ways to even get driving experience (or a teacher that wouldn’t just scream at me the whole time).
I finally saw the Scorch Trials movie (frankly I still don’t know for sure how I feel about it), as well as Crimson Peak, which I definitely loved (but can understand why many people won’t).
Also: there are only TWO MONTHS left of this year. TWO. It really, truly feels like it was just last week that I set this whole New Year’s Resolution to read more, then somehow found my way onto Goodreads, and then joined up with the 2015 Reading Challenge…then BOOM. 120. BOOKS. LATER. It’s an unbelievable achievement and I’m not done just yet. I want to see how high I can get this before January. 150 seems to be a bit too crazy to aim for, but maybe if I read a couple of short books in December? Maybe? On to the recap.

This month I read books, bringing my total to 120


The Books


Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) – Sarah J Maas
A refreshing new series for me to pick up after so many dystopian/urban fantasy reads this year. I loved the main character, and adored that I could follow her line of thinking when certain decisions were made (even if I disagreed with them). I liked that the fantasy elements came about subtly too. Can’t wait to see where this goes next.
★★★★★
Dreams of Gods & Monsters (Smoke & Bone #3) – Laini Taylor
Laini Taylor’s writing is always beautiful, but as soon as this book hit 70% or so my gosh I just got swept away by the stunning prose. The ending was just perfect for this series, and I had to go back and re-read the last chapter a couple of times because it was so satisfying without being a completely closed end. Everything I wanted answered was done so -perfectly- and I feel that shows not only great writing but keen editing. My favourite book in the trilogy.
★★★★★
Messenger (The Giver #3) – Lois Lowry
I have to say that despite it being such a short book, Messenger adds a great deal to the ever building story that is the Giver universe. It begins the work of tying together the first two books and I felt that I was really starting to be clued in to what was actually going on. I feel that big things are to come in book 4.
★★★★✩
Thief of Time (Discworld #26) – Terry Pratchett
Not my favourite Discworld book, but it definitely had a couple of funny lines, and I enjoyed the theme surrounding the nature of humanity (from an outside perspective). After Hogfather this one felt less dark, and the characters were all very interesting.
★★★★✩
Let’s Pretend this Never Happened – Jenny Lawson
I don’t always respond the best to written comedy, because my mood and where/when I’m reading can really prevent me from getting the joke. But holy cow this book! It was hilarious, thought provoking, and just absurd! I loved the dark comedy and the order in which the author tells each story. Enjoyed it so much that I’m seriously looking into other autobiographies now.
★★★★★
Wonder – R.J Palacio
As much as I enjoyed this sweet, little book, this is perhaps the first YA read where I’ve really stopped and thought ‘yep, this is YA alright’. That’s not to say that feeling YA is a bad thing, and certainly, as the story is told from the viewpoint of 5th-9th graders, you can’t really expect it to feel any more grown up than that. I liked each of the characters, and how their viewpoints affected the writing style/punctuation etc in each chapter.The author has a nice moral that she promotes through her characters, and it was a nice, heart-warming little read as a result… but yeah, it was just that, nice. (3.5-3.8 stars)
★★★★✩
Half Bad – Sally Green
I could easily have read this book in just a single sitting. The story progressed at an enjoyable rate, and I found that I just really, really wanted to know what was going to happen to the protagonist, Nathan. The universe this series is set in is fascinating, and I think I was just so ready to read a real “magic & witches” type of book. If I had to nitpick, I think that perhaps the main character’s method of describing everything around him could be a little annoying, but found that it didn’t really bother me much, and I don’t think it was a reflection of lazy writing or anything. 
(4.5 stars)
★★★★✩


October TBR


01 Template (1)Crown of Midnight – Sarah J. Maas
Heir of Fire – Sarah J. Maas
Queen of Shadows – Sarah J. Maas
Son (The Giver #4) – Lois Lowry
Half Wild (Half Bad #2) – Sally Green
Infinite Sea (5th Wave #2) – Rick Yancey

Perhaps my TBR gives it away, BUT I’M GOING TO A SARAH J. MAAS SIGNING THIS MONTH. I only just found out, as I was actually on a waiting list and then got an email about a new event opening up….SO I’M GOING! I totally didn’t expect to be able to go, and now I literally have to read the whole Throne of Glass series (even though I’ve owned books 1-3 since around about April?). SO WE’LL SEE HOW THAT GOES. As I write this now, I’m actually about to start Crown of Midnight because I really can’t wait.


I’m having a good hard think about what I’d like to read in December. I’m treating myself to some new books later today and hopefully I can find some real holiday/Christmas/Winter (even though it will be Summer here) reads. Any ideas?

Current Goodreads TBR: 367 (no comment!)

avatar

-Datsu xox

Leave a Reply

