Book Tag- Musical Books (2015)

So I was thinking real hard about a good book tag or questionnaire I could maybe do, which had me thinking about some of the art tags/memes I used to get back when I was really active over on deviantART. Basically, I’ve re-worked the “put your i-pod on shuffle” style tag for this.
Instructions:
->Put your music player on shuffle (or just switch on the radio)
->Select the first book that comes to mind for each song!
(Feel free to give it a go, but link me so I can check it out!)
Note: I’ve tried to be as spoiler-free as possible in this :P


Music tag 7-9
1. Wake Me Up – Ed Sheeran
Book: Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor
Reason: An unsure relationship, in Smoke & Bone and the subsequent books in the series we explore Karou and Akiva’s star-crossed relationship, a romance which seems to have gone terribly wrong.
Quote: “Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love. It did not end well.” 

2.Decided to Break It – Marianas Trench
Book: Vicious by V.E.Schwab
Reason: I feel like this is the entire vibe of Vicious. Victor and Eli decide not to simply accept the way things are, and break everything in the process.
Quote: “The world resists, when you break its rules.”

3.Waiting for the Wolves – Birds of Tokyo
Book: The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
Reason: The song is very foreshadowing, and there are a great deal many wolves in the world of Gatsby.
Quote: “There are only the pursued, the pursuing, the busy and the tired.”


Music tag 4-6
4. The Pros and Cons of Breathing – Fall Out Boy

Book: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
Reason: Secrecy, hate and revenge. Gone Girl had some really chilling twists and turns, but none so much so as the ending of this book.
Quote: “Friends see most of each other’s flaws. Spouses see every awful last bit.”

5. Man with No Country – Flogging Molly
Book: A Darker Shade of Magic- V.E.Schwab
Reason: So much of this song reminded me of A Darker Shade, it was actually perfect. 
Quote: “Blood was magic made manifest. There it thrived. And there it poisoned.”

6. The Suburbs – Arcade Fire
Book: The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker
Reason: The POV in Age of Miracles is of a young girl experiencing ‘the end of the world’ from a suburban context, and it was just so fascinating to me how the characters just adapted to such large-scale change.
Quote: “As strange as the new days seemed to us at first, the old days would come to feel very quickly the stranger.”


Music tag 1-3
7. Cinderblock Garden – All Time Low

Book: Cress by Marissa Meyer
Reason: Love surviving in less than ideal conditions.
Quote: “Maybe there isn’t such a thing as fate. Maybe it’s just the opportunities we’re given, and what we do with them. I’m beginning to think that maybe great, epic romances don’t just happen. We have to make them ourselves.”


8. Matador – Arctic Monkeys

Book: Death Cure by James Dashner
Reason: A huge portion of this song is actually instrumental, but those segments are what contribute most to the story being told. Had a very ‘final’ feel to it.
Quote: “We’ll start firing till they drop or we drop.”

9. The Reckless and the Brave- All Time Low
Book: The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
Reason: This so completely made me think of Ronan. If you’ve read the book, it really needs no explanation :)
Quote: “He was brother to a liar and brother to an angel, son of a dream and son of a dreamer.”


Music tag 10
10. Ocean and Atlantic – Mayday Parade
Book: Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken
Reason: This song made me think of Ruby and Liam’s relationship in the Darkest Minds series, particularly in Never Fade.
Quote: “I feel like I’m losing my damn mind, like your face has been carved into my heart, and I don’t remember when, and I don’t understand why, but the scar is there, and I can’t get it to heal. It won’t go. I can’t make it fade”


And that wraps up my Musical Book Tag! :) Don’t know if this was so interesting to read, but it was fun for me to go back and think about books I’ve read in a different way. If you’re thinking about it, definitely give it a go.
avatar

-Datsu xox

Leave a Reply

