Reading Challenge – September

Hey everyone, I finally have a computer again! Thank the powers that be, because I was just about losing my mind :P I honestly can’t believe it’s already September too! Just looking at what I have planned, I know it’s going to be October before I can so much as blink. Trying not to be completely overwhelmed and just enjoy the ride.
This past month I read a total of 8 books, which brings my total to 104 :)


The Books


Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s #2) – Ransom Riggs ★★★✩✩
Just felt a bit too slow for me. I found that the plot developments were interesting but felt a little late or underwhelming by the time they were revealed. The new characters were interesting but there wasn’t a lot of development happening with the old ones.
The Darkest Part of the Forest – Holly Black ★★★★✩
An eerie fairytale, something that Holly is very good at. Loved the characters and the ideas, but I was left wanting a little something more.
Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices #2) – Cassandra Clare ★★★★✩
An improvement on the first instalment for me, and I really did enjoy the plot and world building (and of course, Magnus).
A Town Called Dust – Justin Woolley ★★★✩✩
A slow start, and I wasn’t much a fan of the characters, but the unique environment and plot were interesting.
A Darker Shade of Magic – V.E. Schwab ★★★★★
I had high expectations going into A Darker Shade of Magic, and was NOT disappointed at all, new favourite right there.
Attachments – Rainbow Rowell ★★★★✩
I’m usually a big fan of Rowell’s writing, but it was more the context and setting for Attachments that I didn’t like quite as much as her more YA works.
Magonia – Maria Dahvana Headley ★★★★★
First book to make me cry in quite a while, and it was completely unexpected! Maria knows how to write with intensity and I just loved her writing style.
CIty of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments #5) – Cassandra Clare ★★★★✩
Once the ball got rolling, I actually really got into this installment; it didn’t have those frustrating elements that I kept running into in the last couple books, which just let me enjoy the story a whole lot more. Cassandra’s books always have me up late at night desperate to finish them, which is a pretty strong compliment :P


September TBR


sept goodreadsLife of Pi – Yann Martel
The Hobbit – J.R.R. Tolkien
Me and Earl & the Dying Girl – Jesse Andrews
Clockwork Princess (Infernal Devices #3) – Cassandra Clare
Fairest (Lunar Chronicles #3.5) – Marissa Meyer
Gathering Blue (The Giver #2) – Lois Lowry

I must confess that as I post this, I’ve already finished ‘The Hobbit’ (loved it), and I’m about halfway through ‘Life of Pi’, which doesn’t fail to amaze either. Starting the month off strong!


Current Goodreads TBR: 369 (yeah, it grew again. Oh well…)

avatar

-Datsu xox

Leave a Reply

