Bookshelf

Reader Problems – Book Tag

Hey WordPress!

It’s Monday, and I’m dedicating this cold winter day entirely to me, my supply of tea, and an enticing book :) Taking a short break from reading though, because I felt like doing a book tag, and this one comes from About to Read over on Youtube.
….Let’s begin!


Reader Problems


1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?
With my TBR currently sitting at 360 on Goodreads (and growing all the time), I am in this exact position. I have also incidentally already solved this issue (for now) with my  little monthly reading goals. I pick out a couple books that I’m either in the mood to read or just sound pretty interesting and just aim to work my way through those throughout the month. And I try to bring myself up to date with series’ before starting new ones, so there’s not too much ongoing (I try to, anyways). I find that by narrowing the pile down, it makes it so much easier for my indecisive brain to just pick one and go for it. It’s so easy to just get completely overwhelmed and forced into a position where reading becomes a chore, so this is what has worked best for me!

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?
C.O.M.M.I.T.T.E.D.
….Eh, in this case it really does depend on the book though. Up until now I haven’t come across one that I couldn’t just push myself to finish though. I figure if it’s a short enough book I can get through it small chunks at a time anyway, and sometimes I can be quite forgiving of slow building plots if it’s for the sake of a great pay-off later down the road. I really do hate to leave anything unfinished, if I can help it.
I’m currently super struggling with the Graceling trilogy–I read books 1 & 2 but am just really put off investing time in the last one, but it’s still on my TBR for some day…where maybe…I might….? (It’s not giving up if you just put it off for later, right??)

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?
I KEEP FIGHTING ‘TIL THE END. Being the end of the year I’m likely to be home more, and as such there probably is a good chance that I can just plow through a stack of books if need be. However, I’d probably try to choose books I feel I might finish quicker- shorter novels, sequels that I know will pull me in quickly, maybe some childhood books I’ve always wanted to read? (There’s a few of those on my TBR trust me).

4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?
Proooobably not all that well. Let’s be honest. I mostly can’t handle when books are a different size. I remember the first time this happened to me, with the first four books of a series all nice and neat and matchy-matchy, when I received the fifth book (same cover and everything) but in a DIFFERENT SIZE. It hit me right in the feels. If I’m buying a series I really love I’m super careful about this now.

5. Every one and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?
Internet peoples. I actually don’t have all that many close friends who make reading a hobby, so I’m usually seeking out people on the internet anyway. I really hate being in that minority though, I feel as though I’ve missed out on something :P
(Paper Towns, Great Gatsby, Rosie Project–I’m looking at you).

6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?
FLEEE. It’s actually never happened to me before, though I have a friend who will immediately text me when this happens, which I feel is something I’d probably do.

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!?!?!?
I just dive into the sequel and see how I go. Usually the important details come back to me as I re-familiarize myself with the characters, especially if it’s a book I felt real passionate about. I think if I was struggling though I’d just look up a summary or definition of a term so that I can get right back to reading.

8. You do not want anyone. ANYONE. borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?
I am not assertive enough for this question T_T Really though, most of my books are on my eReader so this isn’t an issue. I’d probably deflect with a recommendation to go borrow it from the local library or something.

9. Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?
MMMMM. A) Pick up an old favourite, B) Dive into a stand-alone (usually faster paced and less world building) or C) Just put the books down for a couple of days and pick up a video game instead :)

10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?
If any of those new books are from series that I’ve read and am super pumped about, I go out and BUY THOSE BABIES. Other books I probably wait and let the hype die down a bit, maybe borrow some of them from the library before actually making a commitment.

11. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?
I can proudly say, not all that long! Maybe 6 months at the very most. If I’ve committed to spending my moola on a book I definitely want to get the enjoyment of reading it, though sometimes I like to wait til a particular time to read them–I’m waiting to read the second Miss Peregrine’s book so I can read that right before the third comes out this year, but that’s not always the case :P I bought The Mortal Instruments series in March and have just read half as I needed a bit of a break for the third book to just process.


Anyone else feel the same? Or different? Reader problems are REAL. PROBLEMS.

avatar

-Datsu

One thought on “Reader Problems – Book Tag

Leave a Reply

