GOODREADS CHALLENGE – JULY

I know I did in fact complete my Goodreads Challenge last month, but I’m still going to be setting new reading goals, so let’s just consider everything an extension of that challenge from now on, okay? Awesome. Let’s do this.

Last month I finished [18] books, and completed the Spiderwick Chronicles, Percy Jackson and the Deltora Quest series.
It was a good month overall, but I was pretty disappointed in a few of the books that had been hyped up for me (looking at *you* Paper Towns and Great Gatsby!). I also have some new fantastic books to add to my all time favourites list ; Vicious by V.E. Schwab (the first book I’ve ever read by her) and The City of Bones by Cassandra Clare.
In total I’ve now read [ 81] books in 2015!


Recap-June


[The Books]
The Great Gatsby- F. Scott Fitzgerald ★★★✩✩
Lucinda’s Secret (Spiderwick #3)- Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi ★★★★✩
Paper Towns- John Green ★★★✩✩
Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles #2)- Marissa Meyer ★★★★✩ (4.5 stars)
The Valley of the Lost (Deltora #7) – Emily Rodda ★★★★✩
The City of Bones (Mortal Instruments #1)-Cassandra Clare ★★★★★
The Ironwood Tree (Spiderwick #4)- Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi ★★★★✩
The Wrath of Mulgarath (Spiderwick #5) – Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi ★★★★✩
The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson & the Olympians #4)- Rick Riordan ★★★★✩
The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson & the Olympians #5)- Rick Riordan ★★★★✩
Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna & the French Kiss #3) – Stephanie Perkins ★★★✩✩
Return to Del (Deltora Quest #8)-Emily Rodda ★★★✩✩
The Kill Order (Maze Runner #0.5)- James Dashner ★★★✩✩
Vicious- V.E.Schwab ★★★★★
Tricked (Iron Druid Chronicles #4) – Kevin Hearne ★★★★✩ (perhaps more 3.5 than 4 stars)
City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments #2) – Cassandra Clare ★★★★★
City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments #3) – Cassandra Clare ★★★★✩
Daughter of Smoke & Bone – Laini Taylor ★★★★✩


July Reading Goals


july
The books I definitely want to read this month are:
I’ll Give You the Sun – Jandy Nelson
Clockwork Angel – Cassandra Clare
Trapped – Kevin Hearne
Cress – Marissa Meyer
Howl’s Moving Castle – Diana Wynne Jones
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Ransom Riggs

Still trying to get myself up to date with the Lunar Chronicles and Iron Druid Chronicles, whilst starting the critically acclaimed Miss Peregrine’s and the first book of the Infernal Devices trilogy, Clockwork Angel. Howl’s Moving Castle and I’ll Give You the Sun will be my standalone reads this month, and if I still have time left after that, I’d like to see about knocking a few more stand alones off my TBR, which is still sitting at 350.


June absolutely flew by, but I’m pumped for my July goals now. I made it halfway through The Mortal Instruments last month, and I’m thinking maybe finishing that up in August, along with Hollow City (Miss Peregrine #2) before the final book comes out in September. Any other great book recommendations for me? It’s the middle of Winter here in Australia right now, and there’s a few books I’m specifically saving for the Summer holidays, so it’s tough to decide!
avatar
-Datsu xox

Leave a Reply

