Reading Challenge Success!

Hiya WordPress!!
Yes, as of the start of June, I’ve successfully met my 2015 Reading Challenge goal! WOW. This year I pledged to read 68 books, exactly double the number I managed last year. I went into this challenge trying not to expect too much, but I’m so proud and just happy that I achieved my goal. This challenge reignited my passion for reading, something I’ve always struggled to maintain and make time for. Now I read almost every single day. It’s an important part of my daily routine and I hope to be able to keep this up in future.

But where to now? I’m still trying to reduce my TBR list on Goodreads and there’s quite a few book series I have yet to finish, so I’m just going to keep on plodding along with my monthly bucket lists. I have really, really enjoyed the process of selecting my books each month, and I look forward to continuing on in the same way. I’m not sure how my challenge is going to pan out next year, given that I plan to return to study, but I’ll figure out a reasonable goal once I know more about what kind of time commitment that’s going to be. The only thing I know for sure is that I definitely want to do this challenge again.


Roundup- Favourites


Because why not? My favourite reads from my 2015 challenge :)
Favourite Books (General)
-The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater (Hadn’t even heard of it until this year, but LOVED it).
-The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (Beautiful book)
-Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Favourite Series
-The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater
-The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken (The EMOTIONS)
-Divergent Series by Veronica Roth

Favourite Standalone
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern


….Not so favourites!


To be fair, I had a really strong reading list up until this point in the year. At least 90% of the books I read I really, really enjoyed, and there a quite a few I can see myself reading again and again. However! There are also a couple of books that really took me by surprise in terms of not meeting my expectations at all, and often these books were really highly rated and well known.

Biggest Disappointments
-The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
-Brightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken
-Fire by Kristin Cashore

And also kind of
-The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (A good enough book, I just think that after all the hype and high praise, I was a bit let down by the book overall.)

Did Not Finish
-A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket (Stuck it out til book 3, but the writing style really grated on my nerves by then).
-Graceling Realm by Kristin Cashore (I’m very borderline as to whether or not I will try to read the last book, but after Fire, I’m not really feeling it).


Goals for 2015


Going forward, I’m trying to be optimistic but still easy going about my reading goals. I’d still like to reduce my TBR to about 300 (that’s still huge, I know). I’d like to start the Daughter of Smoke & Bone, The Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices series, and finally finish/ get up to date with a few of my ongoing series’- Percy Jackson & the Olympians, Graceling Realm, Iron Druid Chronicles, Lunar Chronicles and Deltora Quest. In terms of stand-alones I have a list that includes Looking for Alaska, Howl’s Moving Castle, The Hobbit and Life of Pi just to name a few.

To anyone else still working on their challenges, good luck!
avatar

-Datsu xox

2 thoughts on “Reading Challenge Success!

Leave a Reply

