RESTLESS

I’ve become a wee bit stir crazy these past two weeks, after having been stuck in my house in recovery mode.
During the second weekend of April I was a front of house volunteer at Supanova pop culture exhibition here in Melbourne. All I can say is that I have never, ever been through a more intense & draining bump-in in my entire life. I doubt will any time soon either. I think my friends who attended the exibition had a tough time understanding my pure joy and excitement at working this convention, as I was basically dead on my feet when I caught up with them at the end of each day for dinner (sometimes the end of a fifteen hour day for me). But seriously, I’ve never worked with such fun, enthusiastic, brilliant people as the volunteer team for this expo.

supanova-logoAfter having very little sleep, I spent the next day in bed, and then a few more after I cam down with a cold…only to then come down with a bit of a flu of sorts >.>

However! I’m not very good at sitting still and doing nothing (aka “relaxing”), so I basically chomped my way through my April reading list (you’ll see when my Reading Challenge progress post comes up next week) and started into what would have been my May challenge books (oops). Then it was decided that I was going to learn how to knit. That’s right. I said it. I’ve had horrible failures in the past, but something about being glued to my bed meant that this time it was going to /have to/ stick.
wool

AND IT KINDA HAS. I think it helps that I can crochet now? I found that I can knit left-handed because it just lines up with how crochet is done right-handedly. :P Anyways, I found this beautiful thick wool and I’m going to knit my sister a circle scarf with it. I’m motivated to finish because it’s so cold outside it feels like winter already!


“Sometimes the bad things that happen in our lives put us directly on the path to the best things that will ever happen to us”


As the year progresses, I’m finding this to be more and more true. Certainly, the bad times aren’t over yet. I took this year away from study and full time employment for a very good reason- a choice I still standby, even though my quest for part time work has been pretty unsuccessful lately. However, some of the best things to ever happen to me have taken place in the last six months or so, and I feel myself learning, growing, and changing as a result. I hope these experiences will reflect upon me as an individual… Am I stronger? More confident? Understanding?
I can’t really say for sure, but I can see all these changes, in the way I deal with situations and the perspective I bring to different tasks.
Sometimes I have new ideas about what I could use this blog for, things I could talk about or add to the site to make it more interesting. Other times I think that it’s been sort of handy to have a dedication to something; just forcing me to have some content posted each week.

So cheers to anyone who reads this, but mostly to WordPress for letting me yammer on to myself each week. It’s therapeutic and helps me feel productive :’)

avatar

-Datsu xox

Leave a Reply

