READING CHALLENGE- APRIL

And so another month goes by… and time for more book reviews. I just managed 6 books comfortably this month (phew), but my wishlist of books to-read multiplied about ten fold after I got into talking about the challenge with some friends.

In total I’ve now read [27] books this year (Go me :D )


Recap-March


03 March Books take 2
Beautiful Disaster- Jamie McGuire

Hammered-Kevin Hearne (Iron Druid Chronicles #3): Due to the ebook of Beautiful Disaster that I got from itunes being corrupt or something, I decided to continue reading the Iron Druid Chronicles instead. I actually felt that by the 3rd installment in the series, I was getting a little sick of the way in which the main character can just do anything he wants, and is smug about it 90% of the time. The storytelling that revolves around the pantheon of gods in this story is all interesting and fresh though. ★★✩✩✩

Coraline- Neil Gaiman: I had wanted to read Coraline for some time now, and as I try to keep a little bit of variety in these monthly ‘goals’, I thought it might be a nice short read. I’d seen the movie before, but wow, I was still quite taken aback at how….creepy? This story turned out to be. Gaiman is insightful through Coraline’s perspective, and although short, makes for a good read.★★★★✩

Fangirl- Rainbow Rowell: After reading Eleanor & Park and being pleasantly surprised, I wanted to read something else by Rowell. I don’t know what to say, I really loved this book. Light hearted and yet relate-able just about sums it up. I kind of appreciated the details about fanfiction and fandoms in the story, since I know fanfiction writers myself and so a lot of the jokes made between characters made me laugh a little. ★★★★★

The Maze Runner- James Dashner: Despite the main character, Thomas, being written as a little too unlikeable for my tastes, the plot was interesting enough that I was forced to hold on for his redeeming qualities to shine through.  I get the feeling that the first novel is just the beginning in a long epic. ★★★✩✩

Gone Girl- Gillian Flynn: I don’t even know where to begin with this one. Honestly. I want to say “What did I just read??” but also clap my hands in recognition of a book well written, details well handled, and a plot nursed from start to blossoming finish. I’m so glad I decided to read the book before the film in this case, as the plot twists that kept me guessing on every page were just that much more powerful. ★★★★★

Hogfather (Discworld)- Terry Pratchett: Continuing on with my plight to read through the Discworld series, this month saw Hogfather on my to-read list. Pratchett still delivered his tell-tale secret humor and cynical jokes, yet there were actually a couple of points in the story where I really felt like a serious, bitter point was being made about the nature of mankind. Of course, Pratchett’s work often pokes fun at us silly bumbling human beings, but there was definitely a moment or two where I felt he was truly being a tad extra ruthless. That aside, still beautifully written– a great adventure.★★★★✩


April Reading Goals


Without further ado, in April I plan to read…..
April
In the Afterlight- Alexandra Bracken (Darkest Minds #3)
Soul Music- Terry Pratchett (Discworld)
The Scorch Trials- James Dashner (Mazerunner #2)
The Age of Miracles- Karen Thompson Walker
The Giver- Lois Lowry
The Forests of Silence (Deltora Quest #1)– Emily Rodda
Possible bonus reads:
The Lake of Tears (Deltora Quest, #2)
City of the Rats (Deltora Quest, #3)
avatar
-Datsu xox

Leave a Reply

