READING CHALLENGE- MARCH

A very good morning to you, WordPress! (And Charlie because I know she’ll read this :) )
It’s the end of February! How?! I don’t know. It’s been a weird month for me, but lots of good things happened along the way. I successfully read all the books I set out for myself this last month, and 2 bonus reads as well (woop!). It sorta reinforced for me that although I might be capable of reading maybe double the amount I actually set, it’s better to keep a reasonable initial goal, so as to not turn something fun into a stress inducing chore :P! After all, I’m setting goals and making lists of books I want to read because I actually want to read them, and if I manage to read extra, awesome! Soooo I think I’m going to stick with these ‘6-a-month’ targets; they’re really working well for me.
In total I’ve now read [21] books this year (Go me :D )


Recap-February


Feb Book GoalsNever Fade (Darkest Minds #2)- Alexandra Bracken: As heart-wrenchingly good as I knew it would be, and I expect much the same from In the Afterlight. Bracken really knows how to get her readers emotionally invested in her characters, and as a result, when they feel pain so do you… ★★★★✩
Reaper Man (Discworld)- Terry Pratchett: Even funnier than I remember it, Reaper Man is probably in my top 3 of the Pratchett novels I’ve read so far. I’m always proud when I get all the in-jokes or puns that Pratchett makes, and actually found myself laughing out loud (rare event). ★★★★★
Eleanor & Park- Rainbow Rowell: I decided to read E&P because it kept coming up on my Tumblr feed, and then I just gave in and went for it. I don’t regret it at all; unlike a lot of teen-romance novels written by adults, it felt authentic and as though Rowell still remembers what it’s really like to be a teenager. ★★★★✩
Mort (Discworld)-Terry Pratchett: Another of Pratchett’s novels that centre around the character of Death (I’m trying to read all of his arc-related novels first). Funny, well written, a great read. ★★★★✩
Hexed (Iron Druid Chronicles #2)-Kevin Hearne: This book was another re-read, because I wanted to pick up the IDC series again, and just couldn’t remember what had happened so far. I really like the universe that is slowly building up around the main character, a casual, 2000 year old druid, who owns an irish wolfhound that wants to be Ghengis Khan some day. ★★★✩✩
The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicles #1)-Patrick Rothfuss: I don’t know what I was expecting when I decided to read this book, but I was continually surprised. Name of the Wind unfolds as an almost classic fantasy tale, that gives the sense that it should be up there with fantasy epics like Lord of the Rings, Tales from Earthsea and Game of Thrones etc etc. I enjoyed the style of writing very much, and although the first third of the book seemed to drag for me (too many details for every moment of Kvothe’s life), the writing was vivid and enjoyable. ★★★★✩

Verdict: A strong month for reads!


March Reading Goals


March BooksWithout further ado, in March I plan to read…..
Beautiful Disaster- Jamie McGuire
Coraline- Neil Gaiman
Fangirl- Rainbow Rowell
The Maze Runner- James Dashner
Gone Girl- Gillian Flynn
Hogfather (Discworld)- Terry Pratchett

Haven’t read any of these books before, so each one is completely new to me! I have of course seen the Coraline & Maze Runner motion pictures (and will maybe see Gone Girl after I read the book), but apart from that I’m not sure what to expect :).

Possible bonus reads:
Soul Music- Terry Pratchett
In the Afterlight- Alexandra Bracken (Darkest Minds #3)

avatar
-Datsu xox

Leave a Reply

