GOODREADS READING CHALLENGE 2015

Hey internet people! I hope life is being good to you, or you’re kicking it in the face, or both! :) Bit of an early post this week, because I wanted to talk about something separate to Friday’s Art Post.
At the start of this year, like many people, I set myself some New Year’s Resolutions. I even wrote them down at the start of my planner before doing anything else. They were a little scribbled, but they read:

Exercise!
Read more!

Do all the things!
and,
Be fearless!


They were blunt & simple scribbles, but powerful to me. Most importantly, these were all achievable things. I’m not asking myself to run from Melbourne to Sydney, or to read all of Book Depository, or anything. No, goals like that don’t ever work. I want to make time at least once a week to jog or cycle someplace, I want to read some of those books I’ve always wanted to. I don’t want it to be a chore, I just want to do these things to feel good about myself.
And so far, looking at the things I have planned, and what I’ve already achieved in 2015, I think I’m doing alright… :)
I digress-it was this mindset that eventually lead me to taking up the Goodreads 2015 Reading Challenge.


Reading Challenge 2015


In recent years I’ve found that I’ve gradually just stopped reading just for the sake of enjoyment. More and more, I found that I just didn’t have the time in my life, whether it be due to university readings or research I had to do, work, or other commitments, something was always filling that slot reserved for leisure time.
At the start of 2015, I totaled up the number of books I finished (to the best of my ability)
and arrived at the number 34. I thought, 34 isn’t a bad number, but most of the books I’d finished were required readings for my course, books loaned to me by other people, graphic novels, books that I wouldn’t have picked for myself. I thought, maybe that’s why I’m not enjoying reading all that much anymore. Reading had become a hassle, and why read Pratchett when I needed to read Understanding Semantics for my essay due in a couple days? Yep.
So I bought myself an eReader and started using Goodreads to build a wishlist of the books I wanted to finally get up and read. Around the middle of January I noticed a few people I follow on social media were attempting the PopSugar reading challenge, that is a bit of a book bingo/scavenger hunt of sorts. It’s a list of prompts like “read a book with a colour in the title” or “read a book with an author under 30” and so forth. I considered taking it up for a while, but then just thought, there’s so many books I have lying around unread, and other books I’ve just wanted to read for ages… and then I found the GoodReads challenge, where you can simply bid how many books you’d like to aim to read, and just track your progress from there.
My reading goal is to finish 64 books–double last year’s number. It doesn’t feel like an excessively large goal, and there’s not a huge amount of pressure on myself to get there right away either. I feel like I’m starting to enjoy reading again, and while it means I haven’t touched a video game in quite some weeks, it’s not a bad hobby to keep during these warmer months.

So yep! I might post about this from time to time. The books I want to read in February are:

Feb Book Goals

Never Fade- Alexandra Bracken (Darkest Minds #2)
Reaper Man- Terry Pratchett
Eleanor & Park- Rainbow Rowell
Mort- Terry Pratchett
Hexed- Kevin Hearne (Iron Druid #2)
The Name of the Wind- Patrick Rothfuss (Kingkiller Chronicles #1)

-And then anything else is just bonus!-

Anyway, I’m really enjoying it, and if anyone is thinking about doing anything similar, I strongly urge you to give it a go!
avatar

-Datsu xox

Leave a Reply

