2015 IS COMING

How are you? Are you well? As we approach the end of 2014, I hope some real great things are coming your way.

Me, I feel like I’m flying at incredible speed into the new year. Like hurtling downward and knowing there will be a sudden stop to follow (except not quite so morbid…). I’ve been working pretty relentlessly, just about everyday it feels like. This was the entire point of having a job over Christmas, of course, but you know how it is. Christmas shoppers get more and more insane as each day passes, and it’s really taking it out of me (eep). I find I’m itching to spend a serious chunk of time outdoorsĀ  in the sun, jogging or cycling, or just far away from shopping centre air-con and skylights (shudder). Not that I mind that much but well, you know.


“Thanksgiving”


20141203_162041Ā  Cookies

Last night we drove out to our friends’ apartment, to put on a “thanksgiving” (quotes because we don’t celebrate anything of the sort in Australia) and had a full roast turkey and potato salad, amongst other things that we dubbed suitable for such an occasion. On my day off this week, a friend and I slaved away baking different types of cookies to bring as gifts, and you can see a couple of them above (in total we made over two hundred, we’re certain), although there were also sugar cookies, gingerbread and shortbread biscuits. It was a fantastic evening, but I woke up this morning with a very, very sore throat (dangit).


Upcoming


Camera Setup: I’ve been trying to come up with the best possible setup for photographing work and filming videos (for the Youtube channel I’m going to work on in the new year). It’s going to need to be portable, as well as relatively quick and easy to setup and take down later. (I.e. Strapped for space, gotta be flexible about it.) It sounds like a small thing, really, yet I do feel like it’s going to be a bit of a challenge, and quite time consuming.
Art Summary/Recap:Ā  I’ll be putting together a small summary of a couple pieces I’ve done this year, as a sort of recap (hopefully). I usually do this sort of thing to remember things I’ve achieved or to be able to show myself that I’ve finished full pieces and improved across a set period of time.
NaNoWriMo Sketches: Lastly, before the year is out, I hope to show some of the sketches I put together for my friend’s NaNoWriMo novel, which I’m really enjoying helping out with!

Apologies that there wasn’t a lot of “art” in this entry, but the new year, and new art goals are upon me. I hope I can share some interesting things with you real soon.
avatar -Datsu xox

Leave a Reply

